Repertoire Search

Magnus Lindberg

Publisher: Chester Music

Arabesques (1978)
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Magnus Lindberg Arabesques (1978)

Arabesques, which was completed on 26 December 1978, is Lindberg's first attempt at writing music without a structure theoretical foundation. It represents a radical change in his conception of music, prompted by his recent discovery of Berio, thanks to analyses produced for his teacher Heininen.

In Arabesques, Lindberg is mainly interested in sonority, in the surface of a musical work. The title describes its content: the music evolves in fast instrumental figures, which control the piece's auditory density. The work was written on the request of Esa-Pekka Salonen, an ex-member of the Sonus Wind Quintet.

© Risto Nieminen

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.