Repertoire Search

Arthur Bliss

Publisher: Novello & Co

Sonata for Piano (1952)
Novello & Co Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
22 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Arthur Bliss Sonata for Piano (1952)
Moderato marcato
Adagio sereno

This piano Sonata was the first work I composed for solo piano since an early collection of short pieces written in the mid-twenties. It was written as a 'thank you' present for the late Noel Newton-Wood, who had given many splendid performances of my piano concerto. It was completed in 1952. The work is in three movements: the first of these starts with a stately rhythm, which recurs many times throughout the movement. The mood is of a somewhat steely brilliance, set off by a flowing lyrical section, which does duty for the classical second subject groups of a Sonata's first movement. I have marked the second movement 'slow and serene'; it is conceived in 'variation form'; it ends slowly and peacefully. The last movement is gay and lively. It presents some difficult technical problems to the player, and it closes in a fiery burst of sound.

© Sir Arthur Bliss

  • Ensemble
    Royal Scottish National Orchestra
    Peter Donohoe, piano
    David Lloyd Jones
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.