Repertoire Search

Anders Koppel

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Concerto no. 3 for Marimba and Symphony Orchestra (2002)
Work Notes
Skrevet til Martin Grubinger, Bruckner Orchester. Uropføres i Linz 27/02-03. Alternativ version uropført 18.06.03 af Martin Grubinger + "Strings & Percussion" i Salzburg, Østrig (Mozarteum).
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
17 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Alternate Orchestration
Marimba; vn, vn, vc, db, perc, pf
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Anders Koppel Concerto no. 3 for Marimba and Symphony Orchestra (2002)
Marimba concerto no.3 was written in December 2002 and was first performed in Linz February 2003 with the Bruckner Orchester conducted by Ingo Ingensand and with Martin Grubinger as marimba soloist.

The concerto is in one movement. The main subject is presented right from the start by the soloist, and it is developed in the first section. A solo cadenza leads to the quiet second subject and the two themes are playing together in a rising crescendo that gives birth to a new, third subject with a strong rhythm that leads to the second cadenza, and the concerto ends with the three motives side by side.

The solo part in this concerto is a technical tour de force, and it is written and dedicated to the Austrian marimba virtuoso Martin Grubinger.

  • Ensemble
    Aalborg Symphony Orchestra
    Marianna Bednarska (marimba)
    Henrik Vagn Christensen
"…Martin Grubinger (20) spielte mit beeindruckender Musikalität das eigens für diesen Anlass komponierte Marimbaphon-Konzert des Dänen Anders Koppel. Er vereinte Feingefühl und Kraft, virtouse Rasanz und atemberaubende Sensibilität. Der Orchesterpart dient als Rahmen und Stütze, enthält Eigenständiges aus Modernem von der besten Sorte."
Franz Zamazal, OÖ Nachrichten,01/03/2003
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.