Repertoire Search

Lennox Berkeley

Publisher: Chester Music

Concerto for Flute (1952)
commissioned by and dedicated to John Francis
Chester Music Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
21 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Lennox Berkeley Concerto for Flute (1952)
Allegro Moderato
Allegro Vivace

Lennox Berkeley did not take up the serious study of music until after coming down from Oxford in his early twenties. His musical education occupied the next six years, which he spent in Paris as a pupil of that celebrated teacher, the last Nadia Boulanger. He consequently escaped the influence of the English academic tradition and the folksong revival, and acquired a cosmopolitan outlook.

Now one of England’s most respected senior composers, Sir Lennox remains a keen Francophile. It is clear that some of the most characteristic traits of French music and of the neo-classical Stravinsky of the Paris years struck responsive chords in the refined sensibility of his own temperament. However, every composer worth his salt develops an individual musical personality, absorbing only those influences’ that serve his artistic purpose. In the music of Berkeley’s maturity it is the sensitive handling of instrumental sonority and the unfailing lucidity of texture that may be traced back to his formative years. His Flute Concerto, which was composed in 1952 and dedicated to John Francis, evinces these qualities and the lyricism which had become more prominent in his post-war works. It is scored for an orchestra of two oboes, two bassoons, two horns, timpani and strings.

The first movement is centred on the key of D.A. seven-bar introduction presents downward chromatic figures on lower strings to rhythmic figures and thematic fragments of previous movements – has opportunities for display, including flutter-tongued bars and alternations between legato and staccato phrases. The tempo slows for a cantabile flute subject over even minims in the strings, the resumes the initial pace with an orchestral passage in dotted and syncopated rhythm. A cadenza precedes the 12/8 Presto coda, which ends with the solo instrument holding a high A over a chord of D major.

  • 02 MAY 2020
    Highgate URC Church / Highgate / UK
    Ensemble Luce
    Kate Walsh; Derek Holland, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.