Repertoire Search

Kaija Saariaho

Publisher: Chester Music

Die Aussicht (1996)
Work Notes
dedicated to Mamie Gilberte
Text Writer
Friedrich Hölderlin
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Voices and 1-6 players
Year Composed
4 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration
fl/pf/vc (1998)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Kaija Saariaho Die Aussicht (1996)
This short piece, set to Holderlin's 'die Aussicht', was commissioned by Santa Maria de Monastero, Manta, Italy, and premiered there in 1998 by the soprano Donatienne Michel-Dansac with the Ensemble Europeo Antidogma

Die Aussicht is the first piece I wrote using Hölderlin's late poetry, and the music simply conveys my impressions of his beautiful text:


Die Aussicht

Wenn in die Ferne geht der Menschen wohnend Leben,
Wo in der Ferne sich erglänzt die Zeit der Reben,
Ist auch dabei des Sommers leer Gefilde,
Der Wald erscheint mit seinem dunklen Bilde.

Daß die Natur ergänzt das Bild der Zeiten,
Daß die verweilt, sie schnell vorübergleiten,
Ist aus Vollkommenheit, des Himmels Höhe glänzet
Den Menschen dann, wie Bäume Blüth’ umkränzet.

Mit Unterthänigkeit Scardanelli
d. 24. Mai 1748
Text: Friedrich Hölderlin (1770–1843)

The Perspective

When into the distance vanishes man’s life of dwelling
(That distance where gleams the time of vines
Is also where lies the summer’s empty realm)
Then the forest appears, together with its dark image.

That nature completes the image of seasons,
That she lingers, quickly gliding over them,
Is out of perfection –the height of the sky gleams
Upon men, then, juste like leaves wreathe the trees.

With submission,
May 24th, 1748

Translation: Aleksi Barrière

  • Ensemble
    Avanti! Chamber Orchestra
    Petteri Salomaa, bass / Anu Komsi, soprano / Pia Komsi, soprano
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.