Repertoire Search

Magnus Lindberg

Publisher: Chester Music

Corrente (1992)
commissioned by the Svenska Litteratursällskapet i Finland (the Swedish Literary Society in Finland)
Work Notes
see also Decorrente - version for cl/gtr/vib/pf/vc and Corrente - China Version
Chester Music Ltd
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Magnus Lindberg Corrente (1992)
Corrente is a piece originally written to celebrate the Swedish Literary Society Of Finland on the occasion of its 127th year. This may have influenced the composer to bring out a certain sense of "festivas" to the work. "Corrente" is Italian and refers to the baroque dance, "courant" in French, and the baroque ingredients can be shown as the top of an iceberg.

"Corrente" also bears meaning of "running, and "steam". The material of the piece is based on rhythmic loops of different size that superposed produce kaleidoscopic textures. This rather minimalistic approach is mostly deformed by changing the patterns in an irregular way. Also narrative aspects of the material are enhanced by giving the musical characters different roles as they affect each other during the piece.

Corrente is scored for a small orchestra with a maximum of different instruments, one of each, allowing a rich variety of timbral possibilities.

Preview the score:

  • Ensemble
    Ensemble InterContemporain
    Peter Eötvös
    IRCAM Ades:
  • Ensemble
    Avanti! Chamber Orchestra
    Sakari Oramo / Esa-Pekka Salonen
  • Large Ensemble (7 or more players):
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.