Repertoire Search

Magnus Lindberg

Publisher: Chester Music

Away (1994)
Chester Music Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
5 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Magnus Lindberg Away (1994)
Away (1994) for clarinet, percussion, piano and strings is a short (5') piece that
contains all the standard features of Lindberg's music of the 1990s. Chorale-like, rich chord sequences throb with rhythmic drive, now taking the form of lively tremolos or scale figures, now dances ticking away. The vitality of Lindberg's musical idiom has inspired other contemporary Finnish composers, too. It is worth making the point, however, that harmonic sequences and surfaces are also the main point of departure and structural element of many other masters of the latter half of the 20th century. These composers are united by a certain 'French quality' contrasted to 'Teutonic' counterpoint; one of the leading composers of this group was Witold Lutoslawski, in memory of whom Lindberg's AWAY was composed.

  • Ensemble
    Avanti! Chamber Orchestra
    Kari Kriikku, clarinet
    Leif Segerstam
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.