Repertoire Search

Arthur Bliss

Publisher: Novello & Co

Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (1970)
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
26 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Alternate Orchestration
pf [reduction]
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Arthur Bliss Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (1970)
I have always wanted to write some music for solo cello and orchestra, ever since as a young man I played through the classic repertoire for the instrument with my cellist brother, Howard. But it is only now that the decisive impulse has come, as a result of a suggestion form Mstislav Rostropovich. I sketched out the music in the spring of 1969, and on his acceptance of the dedication, "To Mstislav Rostropovich with admiration and gratitude", made the final full score this March. It is a light-hearted work, at any rate in the first and third movements, and is scored for a Mozartian orchestra, with the addition of harp and celesta. There are no problems for the listener - only for the soloist!
© 1970 Sir Arthur Bliss

  • Ensemble
    Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
    Arto Noras cello
    Sir Charles Groves, Paavo Berglund, Vernon Handley, Malcolm Arnold, Marcus Dods
  • Ensemble
    English Northern Philharmonia
    Tim Hugh, cello
    David Lloyd Jones
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.