Repertoire Search

John Harbison

Publisher: AMP

Koussevitzky Said (2012)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Chorus and Orchestra/Ensemble
Year Composed
7 Minutes
Programme Note
John Harbison Koussevitzky Said (2012)
First performance:
August 26, 2012
Tanglewood Festival of Music
Boston Symphony Orchestra
Rafael Fruhbeck de Burgos, conductor
Lenox, MA

So as texts for his brief choral scherzo Harbison instead chose from the informal literature of Koussevitzky-isms, casual phrases attributed to him, often quoted by BSO musicians with the original creative syntax passed down through the years. The piece for instance opens with a richly contrapuntal setting of Koussevitzky’s famous pronouncement: “The next Beethoven will from Colorado come.” Later the chorus sings “I will keep playing this music — until you hear it”; “I am an American, but I still love Russia”; and finally, “Let's do it together for our own satisfaction.”
Jeremy Eichler, Boston Globe,28/08/2012
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.