Repertoire Search

Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

String Quartet no. 8, 'Ground' (1986),
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
15 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen String Quartet no. 8, 'Ground' (1986),
The title of my eighth strig quartet GROUND has been chosen for two reasons: partly because it refers to an English baroque form which is characterized by a constantly repeated bass line, and partly because the meaning of the word in an everyday sense creates a beautiful termination of the series of four string quartets which it thus closes: Step by Step (1982), Parting (1983), Parted (1984), and Ground (1986).

I had originally imagined it to be a calm movement, flowing broadly and partly mildly requiem-ish, partly 'earthy'. And that is saying far too much. And it did not turn out that way either.

However, a kind of Ground remained:
A continuously repeated 35 bar rhythm foundation (constructed of polyrhythms), an equilibrium in a limited number of tones, a continously repeated harmonic sequence (modulationg between four different symmetrically arranged levels) and an overall form of a bow, consisting of many small bows.

The many constantly abridging, condensing and intensifying sequences - spanning the first seven minutes of the quartet - are straining for the medium of the dynamically limited string quartet; the quartet playing has a really difficult job.

For this reason I consider this quartet an experiment. Is it at all posibble to drag this obstinate form home and get music out of it?

Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.