Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Night Windows for Oboe and 15 Strings (2016)
Arranged by the composer from Night Windows for oboe and piano (2007)
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Sub Category
Soloists and String Orchestra
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Unavailable Explain this...
Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Night Windows for Oboe and 15 Strings (2016)
Walking down a darkened street it’s hard to resist looking in through lighted windows and catching a glimpse of other people’s lives. The imagination lingers…

Night Windows is the title of a painting by Edward Hopper of a scene in one such lighted window. However the scenes in this work – though reflecting something of all the loneliness in so many of the Hopper paintings – are all imaginary: highly charged emotional moments.

Loneliness: Anger: Nostalgia: Despair: Frenzy.

The oboe and piano version of Night Windows was commissioned by the International Double Reed Society and it is dedicated to Nicholas Daniel.

Programme note © 2007 Thea Musgrave

Preview the score

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.