Repertoire Search

Betsy Jolas

Publisher: Alphonse Leduc

A Little Summer Suite (2015)
Work Notes
Commissioned by Berliner Philharmoniker
Alphonse Leduc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
11 Minutes
Programme Note
Betsy Jolas A Little Summer Suite (2015)
I've been toying lately, in much of my work, with the notion of "wandering music"; in other words, music which seems aimless and could land anywhere at any time. This concept, obviously inherited from Moussorgsky's justly famous Pictures at an exhibition, is at the root of the seven movement structure of my little Summer suite : a walking stroll in four sections, designated « away, about, under and home », leading to three clearly identified , and fairly stable moments, labeled: « knocks and clocks, Shakes and quakes, chants and cheers »

Commissioned by Stiftung Berlin Philharmoniker, A little summer suite is dedicated to Sir Simon Rattle and the Berlin Philharmonic orchestra who will premiere it on June 16 2016.

Betsy Jolas (2016)

Preview the score

[A Little Summer Suite] tickled the ears right from the opening twists of the rainstick…. Jolas moves between gestures and textures with the nimblest of touches and an uplifting delights in instrumental colours.
Geoff Brown, The TImes (London),19/02/2019
Jolas’s ten-minute marvel showed how music can be charming without being ingratiating.
Ivan Hewett, Telegraph (London),18/02/2019
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.