Repertoire Search

Anna Thorvaldsdottir

Publisher: Chester Music

Spectra (2017)
Commissioned by the NJORD New Nordic Music Biennale. The first performance was given on 27 January 2018 at the Koncertkirken, Copenhagen, Denmark, by members of the Copenhagen Piano Quartet.
Work Notes
Commissioned by the NJORD New Nordic Music Biennale
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
9 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Anna Thorvaldsdottir Spectra (2017)
The piece is in 6 short movements that are performed in a seamless flow from one movement to the next. Atmospheric indications are written in bold italic letters at the start of each movement.

My music is written as an ecosystem of materials that are carried from one performer – or performers – to the next throughout the process of the work. As you play a phrase, harmony, texture or a lyrical line it is being delivered to you, passed on from another performer for you to carry on until it is delivered to another. All materials continuously grow in and out of each other, growing and transforming throughout the process.

Anna Thorvaldsdottir

Score Sample

  • Ensemble
    International Contemporary Ensemble
    Sono Luminus:
...the composer described the work as a reflection on ‘alternative realities’. We might have heard that idea in the music’s tendency, over six linked movements, to toy with some other idea far flung from the central musical chassis – among them a little tune that spoke of Nordic melancholy, miniature avian glissandos high in the sky, or a free-flying fantasy that pulled against one of those resolute pedal notes.
Andrew Mellor, Seismograf,31/01/2018
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.