Repertoire Search

Richard Rodney Bennett

Publisher: Novello & Co

A History of the Thé Dansant (1994)
Text Writer
M. R. Peacocke
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Sub Category
Soloists and Chamber Orchestra
Year Composed
9 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration
Mezzo Soprano;pf
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Richard Rodney Bennett A History of the Thé Dansant (1994)
The original version of this work for mezzo-soprano with piano accompaniment was commissioned for the twenty-first anniversary of the Burnham Market Concerts, with financial assistance from the Eastern Arts Board and the Lady Margaret Douglas-Home Trust. The first performance took place at Burnham Thorp, August 13th 1994, by Barbara Rearick and Martin Jones. The small orchestral version was first performed at Mansion House, London, on 13th September 2011 by the City of London Sinfonia conducted by Michael Collins, the solo part sung by Sarah Connolly.

Preview the score

  • Ensemble
    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
    Sarah Connolly, mezzo-soprano
    John Wilson
Snappy rhythms, superb orchestration and a real sense of panache from both soloist and orchestra made the Foxtrot, Slow Foxtrot and Tango from A History of Thé Dansant stand out as some of the best of their genre. The wistful coda at end was most effective and brought one back to reality having been transported through postcards of a holiday of a bygone era.
Nathan Waring, BachTrack,22/01/2015
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.