Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Symfoni nr. 8 (2011)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
28 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Symfoni nr. 8 (2011)
September 19 2013
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra
John Storgårds, Conductor
Helsinki Music Centre, Helsinki, Finland

Programme note:

The first movement opens with sculptural rising and falling scales. Visually the sound may call to mind, say, spirals or ziggurats (temple towers). Brisk music leads to the climax of the movement.
The second movement is slow and sensually melodious and has three interludes of greater timbral melodic action.
The third movement begins very restlessly but towards the climax the tempo gradually begins to accelerate. An oscillating pianissimo murmur ends the movement – and the symphony.

Symphony no. 8 is commissioned by Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra and is besides the Orchestra dedicated to the conductor John Storgårds.

Per Nørgård (2012)

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
    Sakari Oramo
melodic and rhytmic transformational processes that recalled Sibelius but with lighter footsteps
Guy Dammann, The Guardian,11/03/2013
he has a reach as large as any composer now living
Ivan Hewett, The Telegraph,11/03/2013
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.