Repertoire Search

Malcolm Arnold

Publisher: Novello & Co

Concerto No 2 for Horn & Strings (1956)
Paterson Publications
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Malcolm Arnold Concerto No 2 for Horn & Strings (1956)
Sir Malcolm Arnnold: Concerto No. 2 for Horn and String Orchestra Op. 58

1. Con energico
2. Andante grazioso
3. Vivace - presto

This concerto was written for Dennis Brain at the end of 1956. It is in three movements.

The first movement is in a sonata form and the horn plays both the first and second subjects in the exposition.

The form of the second movement is very simple, being A. B. A. It is designed solely to exploit the superb cantabile playing of the soloist, which is the most difficult aspect of all wind playing.

The last movement is in rondo form with a very lively coda.

© Sir Malcolm Arnold

  • Ensemble
    London Musici/ Royal Philharmonic Orchestra/ BOurnemouth Symphony Orchestra/ English Chamber Orchestra
    Nicholas Daniel/ Karen Jones/ Michael Collins/ Richard Watkins/ David Nettle/ Richard Markham/ Tommy Reilly/ Eduardo Fernandez
    Mark Stephenson/ Vernon Handley/ Okko Kamu
    Conifer Records Limited:
  • Ensemble
    Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
    Janet Hilton (clarinet), Alan Civil (horn), Gordon Hunt (oboe), Richard Adeney (flute)
    Norman Del Mar
    EMI Classics:
  • Ensemble
    London Philharmonic Orchestra
    David Pyatt (horn)
    Nicholas Braithwaite
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.