Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

Violin Concerto No 2 'American Four Seasons' (2009)
Co-commissioned by Toronto Symphony Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Aspen Music Festival and School, Krannert Center for the Performing Arts at University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana and Carlsen Center at Johnson County Community College in Overland Park, Kansas
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Soloists and Orchestra
Sub Category
Soloists and Chamber Orchestra
Year Composed
42 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Philip Glass Violin Concerto No 2 'American Four Seasons' (2009)
Preview the score:

  • Ensemble
    London Philharmonic Orchestra
    Robet McDuffie
    Marin Alsop
    Orange Mountain Music:
  • Ensemble
    Kremerata Baltica
    Gidon Kremer (violin)
Glass's Violin Concerto No 2 is subtitled The American Four Seasons. Written for Robert McDuffie as a Vivaldi companion piece, it links Glass's own minimalism to the classicism and neo-classicism of the 18th and 20th centuries respectively. Baroque in scale, and slyly using a synthesiser as continuo, it interweaves unaccompanied solos with formal movements of great melodic beauty...the standing ovation at the close was richly deserved. [FOUR STARS]
Tim Ashley, The Guardian,21/04/2010
[Philip Glass’s new violin concerto, The American Four Seasons] was dignified and contained, even when the soloist launched into passionate flights of virtuosity, which was quite often...Glass has a magical way of giving the merest twist to banality and ordinariness, which makes it interesting – the mark of classic art down the ages. As for the solo performance by Robert McDuffie, it was beyond praise, as cool, poised and heroically strong as a piece of Greek statuary. [FOUR STARS]
Ivan Hewett, The Daily Telegraph,19/04/2010
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.