Repertoire Search

Kaija Saariaho

Publisher: Chester Music

Serenatas (2008)
Commissioned by the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival and La Jolla Music Society for SummerFest.
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Kaija Saariaho Serenatas (2008)
View sample pages at ScoresOnDemand
This work is a collection of five small pieces which are played in the order chosen by the performers. The names of the sections describe their general musical character: Agitato, Delicato, Dolce, Languido, Misterioso.

The musical material here is related to two of my recent works: Mirage and Notes on Light. I became attached to some details and musical ideas, developed them here further or put them in a new context. The starting-point for these pieces is emotional. The title reflects my attitude to this material: the music is sometimes sweet, sometimes tormented. I would like the attitude of the musicians playing it to be devoted as it would be when playing a serenade to a lover...


  • Soloist(s)
    Steven Dunn, Pia Freund, Tuija Hakkila, Mikael Helasvuo, Florent Jodelet, Anssi Karttunen, Ernst Kovacic
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.