Repertoire Search

Robert Xavier Rodríguez

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Sor(tri)lège: Trio III (2007)
G Schirmer Inc
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Sub Category
Piano Trio
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Robert Xavier Rodríguez Sor(tri)lège: Trio III (2007)
8 February 2008
Clavier Trio
Dallas, TX

Sample Pages

…effusive and joyous… splendid, arching out in vaulting melodic lines and enlivened with striking and unpredictable timbral combinations, urgent forward drive, and fresh, life-affirming ardor… immediately engaging music… could truly be described without condescension or apology as “modern romantic.”
Mark Lehman, American Record Guide,27/11/2009
A feeling of magic and illusion pervades Sor(tri)lege: Trio III, commissioned by UTD [The University of Texas at Dallas] and premiered by the Clavier Trio in 2007. The opening Incantation casts an airy spell, full of muted light and fleeting shadows. The instrumental interplay through Magic de Cabaret echoes the jagged, jangly style of Kurt Weill. The final Charme de Trois is restless and mysterious, its climbing melodies billowing like curling smoke.
Chris Shull, Fort Worth Star-Telegram,01/10/2009
The audience was rewarded with the New York premiere of Robert Xavier Rodriguez's Sor(tri)lège: Trio III. This memorable work has intricate instrumental interplay and soaring, inspired melodies that keep listeners involved. The music was sometimes dance-like with Latin-American flavoring; good news for contemporary music: the audience member next to me was smiling and tapping her foot throughout most of the performance. But the music's accessibility is not at the expense of solid craftsmanship. Clavier Trio played it with impressive virtuosity, enormous dedication and joy. One should hope to see this work appear regularly.
Anthony Aibel, New York Concert Review,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.