Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

The 'Trilogy' Sonata (2000)
Work Notes
arrangements for piano by Paul Barnes
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Philip Glass The 'Trilogy' Sonata (2000)
Dance (Akhnaten Scene 3)
Knee Play No.4 (Einstein On The Beach)
Satyagraha - Conclusion, Act III

The Sonata consists of piano transcriptions from the trilogy of "portrait" operas of Philip Glass, Einstein on the Beach (1976), Satyagraha (1980), and Akhnaten (1983). The result is an unusual sense of time travel as the unmistakable rhythmic identity of Philip Glass is temporarily viewed through the looking glass of the 18th-century sonata cycle.

Paul Barnes

  • Soloist(s)
    Paul Barnes
    Orange Mountain Music:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.