Repertoire Search

Dmitri Shostakovich

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Symphony No. 8 in C Minor (1943), Op. 65
Work Notes
G Schirmer is the publisher of the work in the USA, Canada and Mexico only. Le Chant du Monde is the publisher of the work in France, Belgium, Luxemburg, Andorra, French speaking African countries.
Schirmer Russian Music/Le Chant du Monde
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
1 Hour 9 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Dmitri Shostakovich Symphony No. 8 in C Minor (1943), Op. 65
Dedicated to Evgeni Alexandrovich Mravinsky

1. Adagio – Poco più mosso – Adagio – Allegro non troppo – Adagio – Poco più mosso – Adagio
2. Allegretto – L’istesso tempo
3. Allegro non troppo (attacca)
4. Largo (attacca)
5. Allegretto – Allegro – Più mosso – Adagio – Allegretto – Andante

  • 07 DEC 2019
    Halle aux Grains de Toulouse / Toulouse / France
    Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse
    Tugan Sokhiev, conductor

    Other Dates:
    9 December - Philharmonie Paris, / Paris / France
  • 17 JAN 2020
    Philharmonie Luxembourg / Luxembourg City / Luxembourg
    Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg
    Baiba Skride, violin; Jukka-Pekka Saraste, conductor

    Other Dates:
    18 January - Comet - National Theatre / Chalons-en-Champagne / France
  • 24 JAN 2020
    Barbican Centre, London
    BBC Symphony Orchestra
    Karen Cargill, mezzo-soprano; Jukka-Pekka Sarasate, conductor
  • 09 MAY 2020
    Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, Portland, OR
    Oregon Symphony
    Carlos Kalmar, conductor

    Other Dates:
    10,11 May - Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, Portland, OR

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.