Repertoire Search

Robert Xavier Rodríguez

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Oktoechos, Concerto Grosso for Two Groups of Soloists and Orchestra (1983)
Commissioned by The Dallas Symphony in conjunction with the Meet the Composer Orchestra Residency Program
G Schirmer Inc
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Programme Note
Robert Xavier Rodríguez Oktoechos, Concerto Grosso for Two Groups of Soloists and Orchestra (1983)

Composer note:
The title of Oktoechos refers to the ancient system of Byzantine chant, in which eight different melodic types were drawn from a single scale formation. Here each of the eight soloists creates an individual melodic contour out of a common kernel of rhythmic and melodic material. The soloists are divided into two groups of four, each containing a member of the orchestra's four timbral families (string, woodwind, brass. and percussion). On the conductor's left are four soloists who play in the high register: violin, clarinet, trumpet, and percussion (vibraphone, marimba, temple blocks, and triangle); on the right are the low soloists: cello, bassoon, tenor trombone, and piano. These four strong timbral groupings in the orchestra contrast sharply with the registral groupings of the soloists; hence the dramatic conflict which shapes the piece.

— Robert X. Rodríguez

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.