Repertoire Search

John Corigliano

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Fantasia on an Ostinato (for orchestra) (1986)
G Schirmer Inc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
John Corigliano Fantasia on an Ostinato (for orchestra) (1986)
Composer Note:

FANTASIA ON AN OSTINATO is based on a famous repetitive passage by Ludwig van Beethoven (Symphony No. 7, second movement). That music is unique in Beethoven’s output because of a relentless ostinato that continues, unvaried except for a long crescendo and added accompanimental voices, for over four minutes. Beethoven’s near-minimalistic use of his material and my own desire to write a piece in which the performer is responsible for decisions concerning the durations of repeated patterns, led to my first experiment in so-called minimalist techniques.

I approached this task with mixed feelings about the contemporary phenomenon known as minimalism, for while I admire its emphasis on attractive textures and its occasional ability to achieve a hypnotic quality (not unlike some late Beethoven), I do not care for its excessive repetition, its lack of architecture and its overall emotional sterility.

In Fantasia on an Ostinato I attempted to combine the attractive aspects of minimalism with convincing structure and emotional expression. My method was to parallel the binary form of the Beethoven Seventh Symphony ostinato by dividing the Fantasia into two parts. The first explores the rhythmic elements of the ostinato as well as the harmonic implications of its first half, while the second develops and extends the ostinato’s second half, transforming its pungent major-minor descent into a chain of harmonies over which a series of patterns grows continually more ornate. This climaxes in a return of the obsessive Beethoven rhythm and, finally, the appearance of the Beethoven theme itself.

—John Corigliano

  • Ensemble
    Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra
    Leonard Slatkin
    RCA Victor Red Seal:
  • Ensemble
    Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra
    Eri Klas
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.