Repertoire Search

Tan Dun

Publisher: G. Schirmer

CAGE (1993)
G Schirmer Inc
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Tan Dun CAGE (1993)
C-A-G-E (1993) described by the composer as a “fingering for piano” is dedicated to the memory of John Cage (1912-1992), friend and mentor to Tan Dun and one of the first Western composers to be profoundly influenced by Asian philosophies, particularly through his life-long devotion to chance procedures derived from the ancient Chinese “Book of Changes,” the I Ching. C-A-G-E explores all possible resonances of the piano which can be produced without using the keyboard (for example the production of overtones). Many of the fingering techniques found in C-A-G-E borrow from those of the Chinese plucked string instrument, the pipa. This piece is composed using only the four pitches C, A, G, E in all the different registers of the piano.

— Peggy Monastra

Sample Pages

This item is available digitally from

  • Soloist(s)
    Jennifer Hymer
  • Nimbus:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.