Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Jeg hører regnen (1992)
Work Notes
"Jeg hører regnen" (engelsk version: I hear the rain) til tekst af Michael Strunge) er - ligesom værkets originale version "Regn Nat" (1989)- ikke relateret til Nørgård-korværket "Mens regnen falder" (Tekst: Vagn Lundbye).
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Chorus a cappella / + 1 instrument
Year Composed
6 Minutes
SATB chor ( including 2 perc. - from the choir)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Jeg hører regnen (1992)
JEG HØRER REGNEN (I HEAR THE RAIN) (1992) for mixed choir including percussion (finger snap)

This choral piece, inspired by water and sea, was composed in 1989 (with the Danish title “Regn nat” – Rain night) for Vocal group Ars Nova, for the ensemble´s 10 years anniversary, and is dedicated to Ivan Hansen. The later, shorter and more mobile, version from 1992, titled “I hear the rain” (“Jeg hører regnen”), has become the preferred version for concert performance..

On a journey in 1983 I was fascinated by the roar of sound on a beach by the Indian Ocean. After a few days he heard a persistent, very low G note, and the surf seemed to created wave-like overtone melodies, one of which stuck in the composers ear, mixed with the contrasting, percussive play of rolling pebbles. The inspiration resulted in the sinfonietta work “Prelude to Breaking” and to this choral piece – with a text, about water, by the Danish poet Michael Strunge (1958-1986). Over the nature music of “Regn Nat” contrasting voices of interwoven, chromatic note-streams drizzle down – to Strunge´s darkle metropolitan gaze at the rain, experienced through a city window.

The English version of “Jeg hører regnen” is from 1998.

Per Nørgård

  • Ensemble
    Ars Nova
    Tamas Vetö
  • Ensemble
    Ars Nova
    Bo Holten & Ivan Hansen
  • Ensemble
    Rosentest Ensemble
    Edward Jessen
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.