Repertoire Search

Karl Aage Rasmussen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Encore VIII b (Fuga) (1984)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Karl Aage Rasmussen Encore VIII b (Fuga) (1984)
The title of this piece can be ”fugue” or the same word in the language of the country where a performance takes place.

Fugue is built, through and through, on the fugue from the piano sonata opus 106 by Beethoven (“Hammerklavier”). The work is a fugue in a forced sense in as much as Beethovens fugue is present in four different tempos at the same time, thus establishing a kind of “canon”. All the notes in the piece are composed by Beethoven, but the joint result of the different tempo-layers has been “siftet” through a compositional “filter” and the polyphonic lines have been taken apart.

The result is a music which is fast and slow at the same time, a music which moves “from time to time”. The four tempos have the relations 12/9/8/6.

  • Ensemble
    The Elsinore Players
    Karl Aage Rasmussen
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.