Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Libro Per Nobuko (1992)
Work Notes
Tilegnelse: Nobuko Imai (1) og Bo [Vincens Steensen-Leth](2. 1: Sonata 'The Secret Melody' (1a Prologue, 1b Roaming, 1c Singing, 1d Playing, 1e Epilogue) 2: Bofast. En version for solo violin (ved Heinrich Hörlein), og en version af Sonata´en for violin og cello (ved Jakob Kullberg, med titlen SECRET VOICES) er også tilgængelig.
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
15 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Libro Per Nobuko (1992)
LIBRO PER NOBUKO (BOOK FOR NOBUKO) consists of two pieces written for Nobuko Imai, the Japanese violist.

Dedicated Nobuko Imai (1) and Bo [Vincens Steensen-Leth] (2)

1: Sonata 'The Secret Melody' (1a Prologue, 1b Roaming, 1c Singing, 1d Playing, 1e Epilogue)

2: Bofast (in English: Resident)

The first (and longest) piece is a sonata in five movements called LA MELODIA SEGRETA (THE SECRET MELODY). The title is borrowed from a book by Trinh Xuan Thuan, the Vietnamese astrophysicist. Of the mysterious and inexplicable order of the universe he writes: Nature sends us the notes of a music formed by a melody that will remain secret forever.

The five movements of the sonata circumscribe a hidden melody: a clear melodic shape appears often enough, but it soon reveals itself as being part of another, superior melody - and so on. In this labyrinthine way the three middle movements, framed by a short prologue and epilogue, unfold different moods (roaming, singing, playing) in an eternal hide-and-seek of the melody (melodies).

The second piece for Nobuko, BOFAST (RESIDENT) is dedicated to Bo Vincens Steensen-Leth, in gratitude of the many and selfless services he has rendered to the musical audiences at the locality of Langeland, Denmark. The piece remains faithful to one single motif, a "resident", like Bo and his ancestors who have been residents at the manor house Steensgaard for over 400 years.

Per Nørgård, 1997

  • Soloist(s)
    Rolf Hind (piano), David Alberman (violin)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.