Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Spar Konge, Dame og Es (1985)
Work Notes
Lad kortene fortælle eller Tales from a hand (four suites for guitar solo) - suite I
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
8 Minutes

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Spar Konge, Dame og Es (1985)
The characteristic associations or different moods of the four types of playing cards - Spades, Hearts, Clubs and Diamonds - was the inspiration for the four guitar suites of “Tales From a Hand” (1. In the Mood of Spades. 2. The Queen of Hearts. 3. Clubs among Jokers. 4. Jack of Diamonds).

Suite I, In the Mood of Spades:

I. The King of Spades
II. The Queen of Spades
III. The Ace of Spades

The soloist encounters the challenge of expressing three states of being sinister, as the color of spades indisputably suggests:

"The King" is a severe King (with a touch of French Ouverture) - while
"The Queen" does not feel home in a traditionally "male" element with the austerity of spades - so there is a touch of "Elegy" over her and the music.
In the "Ace of Space" a synthesis is established. The Ace is the last and most exalted card in the series. But it also expresses innocence and a pure new beginning, a mixture that unite in a sort of “sensual hymn” (or perhaps a “sacred waltz”).

Per Nørgård 2008

  • Ensemble
    The Danish Trio, Esbjerg Ensemble, Kontra 4tet etc
    Danish Music Export:
  • Soloist(s)
    Erling Møldrup (guitar)
  • Soloist(s)
    Stefan Östersjö (guitar)
  • Soloist(s)
    Erling Møldrup (guitar)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.