Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Sonora (1981)
Work Notes
'Sonora' er komponeret på grundlag af 'Isternia' (1979) og skrevet til Hideko og Peter Bondesen.
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Sonora (1981)
Sonora for flute and harp is a sister work to Isternia (for cymbalon, or marimba) - inspired by a little town of that name in the Greek island Tinos. During a stay there I was inspired by the timeless peace that emitted from the shimmering white sculptured steps. Both Sonora and Isternia seem to possess a certain timeless or rather 'genreless' character; this is achieved through the use of archetypal melodies and metres and a ´cubistic´ moving to and fro of these well known patterns.

Per Nørgård

  • Ensemble
    Esbjerg Ensemble
    Tine Rehling (harp)
    Kaisa Roose
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.