Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Konge, Dame og Es - Harpekoncert nr. 1 (1988)
Work Notes
Værket er komponeret 1988-89 til Sofia Claro på basis - for de tre hovedsatsers vedkommende - af guitarsuiten 'In the Mood of Spades' fra 1985.
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloists and Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Konge, Dame og Es - Harpekoncert nr. 1 (1988)
KING, QUEEN AND ACE – CONCERTO NO. 1 FOR HARP (1988), for harp and sinfonietta.

Many metaphors are connected to the famous Hegelian triad: Thesis, Antithesis and Synthesis. In "King" versus "Queen" the contrast between hardware (severe, male, linear) and software (open, female, non-linear) is marked as is in "Ace" (symbolizing the absolute ruler - and at the same time displaying the innocence and simplicity of "Beginning": no. 1) the optimal blending of qualities.

To explain this development I would need a musical analysis, but for the listener it might be helpful to bear in mind that the serious, almost pompous, attitude of the King and the melodic, asymmetric and the dreaming character of the Queen integrate in the Ace as a slow, severe presentation of a sort of Sensual Psalm - or perhaps a Holy Waltz?

Each one of the three main-movements is preceded, uninterrupted, by a prelude.
The music is based on ideas and themes from my guitar suite “In the mood of Spades” (1985)

Per Nørgård

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Esbjerg Ensemble
    Tine Rehling (harp)
    Kaisa Roose
  • Ensemble
    Aarhus Sinfonietta
    Joanna Kozielska (harp)
    Søren K. Hansen
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.