Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Between - Cellokoncert nr. 1 (1985)
Work Notes
Værket blev uropført og senere indspillet under titlen In between. In 3 movements: 1. In Between 2.Turning point 3. Among
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
30 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Between - Cellokoncert nr. 1 (1985)
BETWEEN - CELLO CONCERTO NO. 1 – 3 movements for cello and orchestra (1984-85)

1. In Between
2. Turning point
3. Among

The title of each movement suggests one aspect of the relationship between soloist and orchestra. In the first movement the solist is caught up in a conflict between the expression of inner feelings (solo) and influences from external sources (orchestra), the latter of which the soloist in a simple accompanying role, but after a turning point in the middle of the movement the soloist assumes a dominating role. In the final movement a balance is finally achieved, with the soloist at last being on equal terms with the orchestra.

Per Nørgård

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Danish National Symphony Orchestra
    Morten Zeuthen (cello)
    Jorma Panula
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.