Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

4 Latinske Motetter (1991)
Work Notes
1 Vær ikke tavs (SSA/SAT), 2 Jeg råber til dig (SSATB), 3 Dine elskelige boliger (SSA/SAT), 4 Nu jubler mit hjerte (SSATB), For 3 eller 5 stemmer (se de enkelte satser). De fire motetter er komponeret til Folkekirkens Ungdomskor i forbindelse med udnævnelsen af Per Nørgård til Årets Korkomponist 1992. Motetterne kan opføres hver for sig, men den tekstlige forbindelse gør dem egnede til samlede opførelser. Motetterne blev i 1998 tilrettelagt med latinsk tekst af Per Nørgård og Ivan Hansen (publiseret som 4 Latin Motets)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Chorus a cappella / + 1 instrument
Year Composed
6 Minutes
SSATB and/or SSA
Danish, Latin
Alternate Orchestration
SAT chor

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård 4 Latinske Motetter (1991)
FOUR LATIN MOTETS (1991) - for mixed choir

1 Ne obsurdescas mihi (SSA/SAT),
2 Ad te Domine clamabo (SSATB),
3 Quam dilecta tabernacula tua (SSA/SAT),
4 Exultavit in Deum (SSATB),

All four motets are based on the first motets´ simple, pentatonic initial motif. Like the polarities of the hymn texts between lamentation and jubilation, the motif appears in various disguises, from a gloomy Japanese (death-) mode (first and second motet) to the lighter, celebratory forms in the familiar Chinese pentatonic scale and the Indonesian “pelog” scale (third and fourth motet). The mood-creating scales weave (like the text sections) in and out of each other,; just a few changes in notes change grief to joy, from idyll to catastrophe.

The latin version of the motets (originally with Danish text, 1991) was made in 1998 by Per Nørgård and Ivan Hansen.

Ivan Hansen

  • Ensemble
    Ars Nova
    Tamas Vetö
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.