Repertoire Search

Vagn Holmboe

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Concerto giocondo e severo (1977), 132
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Vagn Holmboe Concerto giocondo e severo (1977), 132
Concerto giocondo e severo (Cheerful and Serious Concerto)

Was composed in 1977 and first performed in the following year on 18th April by the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra during a vist to Gothenburg with Jorma Panula conducting. This work is scored for a much larger orchestra than the other conertos (including a large percussion section), but the orchestration is relatively transparent. It is only occasionally that everybody is on the pitch at the same time. The concerto is in one movement, but is divided into a succession of different tempi and sections that contrast with each other in character. A fortissimo chord from the whole orchestra starts the the slow, somewhat tentative introduction. But another fortissimo outbreak is required before strings and the woodwinds together prononunce the beginning of the first rapid section.

Knud Ketting

  • Ensemble
    Aalborg Symphony Orchestra
    Owain Arwel Hughes
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.