Repertoire Search

Anders Koppel

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Concerto no. 2 for Saxophone and Orchestra (2003)
Work Notes
til Benjamin Koppel og Odense S.O. Uropføres 29/1-2004
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
28 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration
asx, pf
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Anders Koppel Concerto no. 2 for Saxophone and Orchestra (2003)
My second Concerto for saxophone and orchestra was written during the autumn 2003 and had its first performance with Benjamin Koppel as a soloist and Odense Symphony Orchestra conducted by Nicolae Moldoveanu. The solo part was written directly for my son, Benjamin, with whom I have worked on several projects, among them my compositions for his chamber-ensemble “Mad Cows Sing” and in our common trio. The saxophone part is partly written, partly open for improvisations, so the concerto picks up the thread from the baroque and roccoco concerto, where improvisations and free embellishments was a natural part of the soloist’s vocabulary. The concerto is in one sequence, but this sequence is clearly divided into four movements in a classic form – fast, slow, scherzo, finale – but the thematic content in the first and the last movement is related.

Anders Koppel

  • Ensemble
    Odense Symfoniorkester
    Benjamin Koppel (sax)
    Nicolae Moldoveanu
“Anders Koppel’s easily recognizable, filmic narrative form coloured his “Second Saxophone Concerto”, where camouflaged Argentinian tango and Cuban music flowed together with classical and funky swing into a cacophonous, languishing and thriller-like city music ... the orchestra played with consistent brilliance – not least in the wondrously beautiful slow movement and in the subsequent large “infusion” – and on the whole looked as if they relished the composer’s challenges...”
Lene Kryger, Fyns Stiftstidende,31/01/2004
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.