Repertoire Search

Bent Sørensen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

The Lady of Shalott (1993)
Work Notes
Version 1993
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
6 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Bent Sørensen The Lady of Shalott (1993)
In February 1987 I saw in the Tate Gallery in London a painting by the Victorian English painter John William Waterhouse. The painting kept haunting my memory, and as I at the same time planned to write a piece for solo viola, my ideas for the music and the memory of the painting fused more and more. I decided, then, to let my piece borrow the title of Waterhouse’s paint-ing: The Lady of Shalott. The picture of a mad-like, pale, and perhaps singing woman alone in a boat without sculls, which calmly slips out from the rush growth of the river is an illustration for the ending of Alfred Tennyson’s poem by the same title, which again plaits into the old English legends about King Arthur.

My piece tries to meander - like the river at Camelot - among these sources. As suggested above the piece was originally written for viola solo. The version for string quartet is from 1993.

- Bent Sørensen

  • Ensemble
    Christian Eggen
    Edition Wilhelm Hansen:
  • Ensemble
    Cikada String Quartet
  • Ensemble
    Lapland Chamber Orchestra
    Katrine Gislinge, piano; John Storgårds, violin
    John Storgårds
    Da Capo:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.