Repertoire Search

Rolf Wallin

Publisher: Chester Music

Concerning King (2006)
Commissioned for the Arditti String Quartet by the Ultima Festival, Oslo, with funding from Det Norske Komponistfund, with additional support from the ISCM World Music Days Stuttgart.
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Unavailable Explain this...
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Rolf Wallin Concerning King (2006)

1. "a time comes when silence is betrayal..."
2. "we were taking the black young men..."
3. "they wander into the towns... "
4. "a voice to the voiceless..."
5. "each day the war goes on..."
6. "we still have a choice today..."

The music of Concerning King is based on a spectral plotting of excerpts from Martin Luther King's speech Beyond Vietnam — a Time to Break Silence, delivered 4 April 1967 at a meeting of Clergy and Laity Concerned at Riverside Church in New York City.

Rolf Wallin

Score sample

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.