Repertoire Search

Rolf Wallin

Publisher: Chester Music

Stream (1999)
Commissioned by Köln Musik
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Rolf Wallin Stream (1999)
The title suggests James Joyce's wonderful literary principle, the "stream of consciousness". The piece is a stream of impressions coming to one's mind, where the direct relation between one event and the next can seem irrational. But the sum of all events creates a certain soundspace, a certain direction. And, although fragmented, the form is the result of the interaction between three carefully calculated waveforms.

Stream was commissioned by the Cologne Philharmonic for the 1999 Bach Festival, as a part of a series of concerts featuring 6 leading cellists, each playing one Bach solo suite and one commissioned work

Programme note © 1999 Rolf Wallin

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.