Repertoire Search

Rolf Wallin

Publisher: Chester Music

Stonewave for solo percussion (1990)
Commissioned by the Flanders Festival
Work Notes
versions also available for 3 and 6 percussionists
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Rolf Wallin Stonewave for solo percussion (1990)
The last few years I have become increasingly involved in some peculiar mathematical formulas called "fractals". These formulas, used in the fast growing field of "Chaos theory", are relatively simple, but they generate fascinating and surprisingly "organic" patterns when shown graphically on a computer screen, or played as music.

One should think that such a mathematical approach would lead to sterile and 'theoretical' music. The sound world of 'Stonewave', however, is not one you would associate with math books. The steady, insistent pulse, and the use of sequences put squarely up against each other or divided by long rests suggest an invisible ritual. A ritual for what?

Well then, let it be a ritual for the exorcism of some 'evil spirits' which now ride our part of the world under the name of Liberalism, making people the servants of the Market Forces instead of vice versa.
'Stonewave' is therefore an incantation, as it seems that only divine forces can save European culture from a political system that proclaims the Jungle Law as the guiding principle in social and cultural life.

Programme note © 1990 Rolf Wallin

  • Soloist(s)
    Hans-Kristian Kjos Sørensen, percussion
  • Ensemble
    Kroumata Percussion Ensemble
  • Ensemble
    BIT 20 (ning); SISU Percussion Ensemble (Stonewave); Cikada Ensemble (Solve et coagula)
    Hilde Torgersen, mezzo-soprano / Kenneth Karlsson, piano (Though what made it has gone)
    Ingar Bergby (ning); Christian Eggen (Solve et coagula)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.