Repertoire Search

Rolf Wallin

Publisher: Chester Music

ning (1991)
Commissioned by Ensemble Borealis
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
17 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Rolf Wallin ning (1991)
The title and concept behind the piece comes from David Grossmann's novel "see under: love", in which he among other things describes a man who joins a school of salmon on its way through the oceans. He swims, eats and sleeps together with them, and gradually he understands the forces that make this large group of fish swim almost as one body.

One of these forces is a cohesive joining force called ning. In my oboe quartet, the four instruments act very much like fish or birds in a group, sometimes moving fast and close to each other, with one clear direction, then all of a sudden the group dissolves to four separate individuals, finding their own paths within a wider area, but still dependent on one another. ning is the fourth in a series of pieces where I use so called fractal mathematics in the process of composition.

Programme note © 1991 Rolf Wallin

Score sample

  • Ensemble
    BIT 20 (ning); SISU Percussion Ensemble (Stonewave); Cikada Ensemble (Solve et coagula)
    Hilde Torgersen, mezzo-soprano / Kenneth Karlsson, piano (Though what made it has gone)
    Ingar Bergby (ning); Christian Eggen (Solve et coagula)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.