Repertoire Search

Rolf Wallin

Publisher: Chester Music

Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra (1996)
Commissioned by the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
Chester Music Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Rolf Wallin Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra (1996)
What is the True Sound of the Clarinet? The soft, mild and pastoral sound of Mozart's immortal Concerto? Or the rough, charging masculinity of Balkan folk music?

This concerto is in fact two concertos, cut in pieces and spliced squarely into each other, the soloist now in this world - and now in the other. The Janus Face of the clarinet.

Programme note © 1996 Rolf Wallin

Preview the score

  • Ensemble
    Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra (Concerti); Norwegian Chamber Orchestra (Ground); Oslo Sinfonietta (Boyl)
    Leif Arne Tangen Pedersen, clarinet; Tom Vissgren, timpani; Øystein Birkeland, cello
    Rolf Gupta (Timpani Concerto); Christian Eggen (Boyl/Clarinet Concerto); Terje Tønnesen (Ground)
Wallin’s Clarinet Concerto [written in 1996,] won the Nordic Music Council’s music prize a year later. And with good reason: along with Jouni Kaipainen’s Carpe Diem, it is one of the finest Nordic clarinet concertos since Nielsen’s. Wallin cross-cuts music of uneasy lyricism with explosions of skinhead energy, reflecting, he says, the clarinet’s dual nature: it is equally at home in the silky domesticity of the Mozart concerto and the ‘rough, charging masculinity of Balkan folk music’. It’s the Dr Hyde character that finally conquers, as Wallin sweeps the listener of his feet ion a thrilling bare-back gallop.
Martin Anderson, International Record Review,07/01/2002
The solo instrument ventures into every corner of its psyche, trilling dulcetly in the lower range and shooting to the skies in penetrating tones. Wallin places contrasting materials in seamless juxtaposition, with the orchestra often taking over where the clarinet leaves off [as] Wallin engages in myriad intriguing combinations along the way. June 2003
Donald Rosenberg, Cleveland Plain Dealer,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.