Repertoire Search

Bent Sørensen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

The Shadows of Silence (2004)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Bent Sørensen The Shadows of Silence (2004)
Quite some time ago I heard - through a conversation in a mobile phone - a wonderful concert of ringing church bells from an European capital. I found it very hard to concentrate about the conversation, because I was so engrossed by the chaotic world of bell sound.

The night after, I dreamt that the sound of those low singing bells was rising up from a piano in a huge empty concert hall. That experience became the starting point for my piano piece, The Shadows of Silence. But before the piece gets to the ringing bells it moves through a landscape of shadows - Shadows of the silence before the bells - Silence before the storm - Shadows of melodies which all the time leaves traces even in the short passages of storm. After the passage with the low ringing bells the shadows of silence returns melted in to a lament, which are sending two regards. One to two small beautiful - not very well known - bars by Mozart, and one to the sextet in my own opera, Under the Sky.

The Shadows of Silence was commissioned by The Carnegie Hall Corporation and is dedicated to Leif Ove Andsnes

Nattemusik af betagende skønhed
Thomas Michelsen, Politiken,06/11/2005
"The Shadows of Silence" is an engaging and unusually textured piece, filled with hushed, trembling sonorities drawn from the extremes of pitch at both ends of the keyboard.
Jeremy Eichler, New York Times,25/01/2005
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.