Repertoire Search

Bent Sørensen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Schreie und Melancholie (1994)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
23 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Bent Sørensen Schreie und Melancholie (1994)
Schreie und Melancholie is dedicated to the Arditti Quartet and was commissioned with support from the Danish Arts Foundation. In the summer of 1993 I worked briefly on some sketches for a choral suite with texts by Georg Trakl. The project was abandoned, but the moods from Trakl’s poetry, in which ‘scream’ and ‘melancholy’ are key words, stuck in my mind when I began working on my fourth string quartet. This is music full of high siren-like wails and almost infinitely descending glissandi which permeate a landscape of warped tonal harmony.

Schreie und Melancholie is in four movements, played attacca. The third movement is a barcarole – a memory of an autumn in Venice.

- Bent Sørensen

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.