Repertoire Search

Bent Sørensen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Funeral Procession (1989)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
9 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Violin, Viola
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Bent Sørensen Funeral Procession (1989)
Funeral Procession for violin, viola and chamber ensemble was composed in 1989 as a commission from the Sonanza Ensemble.

During recent years several of my pieces have contained sections which I privately called funeral chorales and in Funeral Procession reminiscences of moods and layers of music from those sections permeate in all directions. The music is, apart from a few swarming bursts, slow and silent. Dynamic is almost stripped away, and the musicians play as faintly as possible - almost inaudibly.

Funeral Procession is the latest part in a series of four chamber ensemble works, i.e. Clairobscur, premiered by Esbjerg Ensemble 1988, Minnewater, premiered by Ensemble Modern 1989 and Shadowland, premiered by London Sinfonietta 1990.

- Bent Sørensen

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Christian Eggen
    Edition Wilhelm Hansen:
  • Ensemble
    Cikada Ensemble
    Christian Eggen
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.