Repertoire Search

Bent Sørensen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Trotto (1983)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
9 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Bent Sørensen Trotto (1983)
The Quintet Trotto was composed in the spring 1983 to the Western Jutland Chamber Ensemble, who premiered the work in June the same year. A quiet and pastoral music with calling horns and folk musical fragments of melodies are through the three movements of the piece met by a manic and stressed music among others created by mechanical sound repetitions and breathless musical oscillations. The two characters overshadow each other and incessantly the peace is infiltrated with mania so that the resting points of the music disappear.

’Trotto’ is the name of an old Italian dance, which rhythm is apparent as an enervating violin rhythm in the middle of the first movement.

- Bent Sørensen

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.