Repertoire Search

Esa-Pekka Salonen

Publisher: Chester Music

Memoria (2003)
written as a gift for Avanti! Chamber Orchestra
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Esa-Pekka Salonen Memoria (2003)
Memoria, a wind quintet in one movement, harks back to a piece of mine from the early 1980s, ,Mimo, which I had left unfinished. In the summer of 2003 I wanted to write some chamber music before embarking on a complex and large-scale orchestral project. I found the manuscript of Mimo, over twenty years old, in my archives, and decided to finish the composition.

In the end there was almost nothing left of the old quintet: maybe some kind of a ritualistic atmosphere and some textural aspects, very little else. I rewrote every note. The fast music that gradually grows out of the slow material did not exist in Mimo at all. The basic character is serious, sometimes even sad, despite the short fast sections where the playful, flickering divertimento character (typical of the ensemble) flashes by.

The title Memoria refers to two things: partly to some sweet-and-sour memories from more than twenty years ago, and partly to the death of Luciano Berio, the great Italian composer, whose music I greatly admire. The chorale at the end is a lament to the memory of Berio, as a gesture a bit like the end of Stravinsky’s Symphonies of Wind Instruments where Stravinsky mourns the death of his friend Debussy. For some reason, those chords in the last minute-and-a-half of Memoria have found their way into other works of mine. Some processes seem to need time.

Programme note © Esa-Pekka Salonen

… the UK premiere of one of his own recent scores. The wind quintet Memoria, from 2003, is a reworking of a 20-year-old piece, Mimo, now morphed into the sleek, suave […] style of Salonen's recent music, before ending with a short, fractured chorale in memory of Luciano Berio.
Andrew Clements, The Guardian,21/12/2006
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.