Repertoire Search

Magnus Lindberg

Publisher: Chester Music

Coyote Blues (1993)
commissioned by Svenska Rikskonserter (the Swedish National Concert Institute)
Work Notes
see also "Two Coyotes": arrangement of "Coyote Blues" for cello and piano.
Chester Music Ltd
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
11 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Magnus Lindberg Coyote Blues (1993)
Magnus Lindberg’s catalogue demonstrates the difficulty this composer of rhythm and harmony has in writing for the voice. When the Swedish national concert association Rikskonserter awarded him a commission for a work for the Stockholm New Music festival, where he was one of three invited composers, along with Xenakis and Gubaidulina, he attempted to produce a piece for solo voice and ensemble. In spite of melodic sketches for baritone, the end result is once again an instrumental work. But the genesis of the work includes enough elements for us to get a sense of the spirit of Coyote Blues, with its plaintive expressions, its melismatic writing, its short, stuttering phrases, its pastoral melodies, and its glissandi. Lindberg himself provided the key to understanding the piece in his contribution to the programme accompanying the work, where he reveals that during the project’s conception he carried out an analysis of the three different versions of Stravinsky’s Les Noces, and apparently allowed the work to influence his own composition.

© Risto Nieminen

In: Magnus Lindberg, Edition Ircam – Centre Georges-Pompidou, 1993.

  • Ensemble
    Avanti! Chamber Orchestra
    Sakari Oramo / Esa-Pekka Salonen
  • Large Ensemble (7 or more players):
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.