Repertoire Search

Herbert Howells

Publisher: Novello & Co

Paean (1940)
Work Notes
From 'Six Pieces for Organ'
Novello & Co Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
7 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Herbert Howells Paean (1940)
Herbert Howells: Pæan

The Pæan dates from May 1940. It takes the form of a vigorous toccata in D stemming from two contrasted themes. The first unfolds in a semiquaver stream over the initial tonic pedal, Allegro sempre briso in three-four time. The second is chordal and more rhythmic and supplies the Largamente coda leading to the final major chord.

© 1977 Felix Aprahamian

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.