Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

Another Look at Harmony-Part IV (1975)
Commissioned by the Holland Festival 1977
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Chorus and Orchestra/Ensemble
Year Composed
1 Hour 0 Minutes

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Philip Glass Another Look at Harmony-Part IV (1975)
"Another Look at Harmony" is a project started in 1975. The approach has been to link directly rhythmic and harmonic structure. In doing so, easily audible root movement (chords or "changes") was chosen in order that the clarity of their relationship could easily be heard. Here, as in earlier periods of Western music, melodic material is, for the most part, a function or result of the harmony. However, it is clear that some of the priorities of Western music (harmony/melody first, then rhythm) have been reversed.

Philip Glass

  • Ensemble
    Western Wind
    Michael Riesman, organ
    Orange Mountain Music:
  • Ensemble
    The Western Wind
    Michael Riesman
    Orange Mountain Music:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.