Repertoire Search

André Previn

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Nonet (2014)
Commissioned by Anne-Sophie Mutter for the Mutter Virtuosi
G Schirmer Inc
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Programme Note
André Previn Nonet (2014)
Note:Written for the Mutter Virtuosi, this work, consisting of two string quartets and a contrabass, delivers. The quartets play together and play off each other. Soloists from each do likewise while the bass acts as the anchor and interlocutor between the others. Written with great intuitiveness for strings, at times it brings to mind late Shostakovich in the very best way, especially in its second movement, which is somber, serene, piquant and beautiful all at the same time.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.