Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

Concerto Fantasy for Two Timpanists and Orchestra (2000)
commissioned for timpanist Jonathan Haas by The American, Milwaukee, Peabody, Phoenix and Saint Louis Symphony Orchestras
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
27 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
2 Timpanis
Alternate Orchestration
2 Timpanis; 2+pic.2.3+Eb+bcl.ssx.2asx.tsx.barsx.2/4.3.2+btbn.2euph.1/6perc/
Programme Note
Philip Glass Concerto Fantasy for Two Timpanists and Orchestra (2000)
Jonathan Haas approached me almost 10 years ago with an invitation to write a Timpani Concerto for him. It seemed we were in agreement to begin our project when a series of operas and symphonic commissions led to a series of postponements. Now, almost 10 years later, the work is finally completed - a three movement concerto with cadenza. It has also grown into a "double" concerto requiring two timpanists playing a total of nine timpani between them with half a dozen orchestras ready to perform it in its first year. Jonathan and their resident timpanist will be the dual soloists. I am delighted to be able to present the completed work and I commend Jonathan for his patience and undiminished enthusiasm.
Philip Glass

Preview the score

  • Ensemble
    Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
    Julian Lloyd Webber (vc), Evelyn Glennie (timp), Jonathan Haas (timp)
    Gerard Schwarz
    Orange Mountain Music:
Philip Glass's Concerto Fantasy represents a new dawn for [one of] minimalism's founding fathers. With greater rhythmic and harmonic complications, this was a complex affair in which rhythms seemed to fold over one another to form a sonic mandela. The effect was mystical. Concerto Fantasy was a stellar piece of virtuoso music, an athletic showpiece for an instrument too rarely treated center stage
Kenneth Lafave, Arizona Republic,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.